State Insurance Licensing Guidelines

The following guidelines were provided by Kaplan Financial Education as of November 2015. Please check for updated requirements before scheduling your exam.

Kaplan Financial provides a single source for premier education and compliance solutions, bringing together leading brands to help customers accelerate speed to market, boost revenue and minimize risk. Over the last 70 years, Kaplan Financial Education has provided the most current test preparation and continuing education materials for Securities and Insurance professionals.

Kaplan’s offerings include licensing exam prep, continuing education and firm element, wealth management, financial planning, insurance designation programs and compliance management tools and services. For more information, visit KaplanFinancial.com.

Alabama

Alabama Department of Insurance
Producer Licensing Division

Address: 201 Monroe St., Ste. 1700
Montgomery, AL 36104
P.O. Box 303351
Montgomery, AL 36130-3351

Phone: 334-241-4126
Fax: 334-240-3282

Website: http://www.aldoi.gov
E-mail: ProducerLicensing@insurance.alabama.gov

Exam Provider: Alabama State Department of Insurance and the University of Alabama College of Continuing Studies
For online registration and exam information go to the Alabama Department of Insurance website at http://www.aldoi.gov.
For information regarding testing, contact the University of Alabama College of Continuing Studies at 205-348-0633 or 205-348-5355 or by emailinginsurance@ua.edu.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident & Health or Sickness – 20 Hours
– Life and Accident & Health or Sickness – 40 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Property and Casualty – 40 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Note: A minimum of 5 hours must be dedicated to the discussion of Alabama Law.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements
Applicants must present an original Certificate of Completion from an approved prelicensing provider when they arrive at the test center.
The certificate of completion must be notarized by the Provider and will be mailed to you.
Prelicensing course certificates are valid for one year from the date of course completion.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Applicants who hold one or more of the following designations or certifications are exempt from prelicensing education and exam requirements for the indicated line of authority:

– Life, Accident & Health or Sickness, and Variable Life/Annuity – CLU®
– Property, Casualty, and Personal Lines – CPCU®, CIC

Note: Examination certificates are valid for one year from the date of completion.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Alabama Department of Insurance website at http://www.aldoi.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Alaska

State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Division of Insurance

Address: 9th Floor State Office Bldg
333 Willoughby Avenue
Juneau, AK 99801
PO Box 110805
Juneau, AK 99811-0805

Phone: 907-465-2515
Fax: 907-465-2816

Website: www.commerce.state.ak.us/insurance
E-mail: insurance@alaska.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-5993.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Alaska does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Alaska Division of Insurance website at www.commerce.state.ak.us/insurance.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Arizona

Insurance Licensing Section

Address: 2910 N. 44th St., Suite 210
Phoenix, Arizona 85018-7269

Phone: 602-364-4457
Fax: 602-364-4460

Website: www.id.state.az.us
Email: Licensing@azinsurance.gov

Exam Provider: Prometric (Effective 7/1/2014)

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Prometric website at www.prometric.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at www.prometric.com or 800-341-3257.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Arizona law does not require/prescribe prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Important: Applicants are only allowed four attempts to pass an exam for a particular line of authority within a one-year period. After a fourth unsuccessful attempt, the applicant must wait one year from the date of the last attempt to retake the exam.
Note: Applicants must apply for a license within 120 days after passing the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Arizona Department of Insurance website at www.id.state.az.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Arkansas

Arkansas Insurance Department
License Division

Address: 1200 West 3rd Street
Little Rock, AR 72201-1904

Phone: 501-371-2750
Fax: 501-683-2604

Website: http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov
E-mail: insurance.license@arkansas.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at 1-888-204-6259 once examination permit is received.

Note: A test date cannot be scheduled without an examination permit in hand. This permit is obtained by submitting the competed correct application and fee to Pearson VUE, and is good for only 90 days.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident/Health/Sickness – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– The majority of the prelicensing course must be completed by classroom education.
– Up to 5 hours of the prelicensing education can be completed by electronic media.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– A certificate of completion must be presented at the time the candidate arrives for the exam. A candidate without this certificate will not be allowed to sit for the exam.
– Certificate is valid for 2 years from the date of course completion.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Arkansas Insurance Department website at http://www.insurance.arkansas.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

California

California Department of Insurance
Producer Licensing Bureau

Address: 320 Capitol Mall
Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone:
916-322-3555
800-967-9331

Website: http://www.insurance.ca.gov
E-mail: ProducerLicensing@insurance.ca.gov

Exam Provider: PSI

– Effective November 13, 2012, residents applying for any license for which an exam is required must pass the exam prior to applying for a license.
– For online registration and exam information, visit PSI’s online service at http://www.psiexams.com.
– For questions about examination scheduling, please call 877-392-6422.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Ethics and California Insurance Code – 12 Hours
– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident and Health – 20 Hours
– Life / Accident & Health – 40 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Property and Casualty – 40 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Note: The required 12 hours of Ethics and California Insurance Code need not be repeated by those applying for more than one license.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Online

Online Course Requirements

Time Tracking: California requires that your online study time be tracked. In order to successfully complete the course, you must complete the required number of hours while studying in the Course Contents Units of the online course. Your online course tracker will be displayed in the upper right hand corner of your page so that you can verify the time spent in the course is being tracked.
Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Applicants maintain a duplicate copy of the certificate and submit the original Certificate of Completion with their license application.
– Prelicensing certificates of completion are valid for three years from the date of course completion.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions*
Applicants who hold one or more of the following designations or certifications are exempt from prelicensing education requirements for the indicated line of authority:

– Life Only, Accident and Health – CLU®, LUTCF
– Fire and Casualty, and Personal Lines – CPCU®, CIC, AAI

*Even if exempt from the prelicensing requirements of the above indicated line(s) of authority, applicants must still complete the 12 hour Ethics and California Insurance Code course.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the California Department of Insurance website at http://www.insurance.ca.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Colorado

Colorado Division of Insurance
Department of Regulatory Agencies
Producers Licensing

Address: 1560 Broadway, Suite 850
Denver, CO 80202

Phone: 303-894-7499
Fax: 303-894-7455

Website: http://www.dora.state.co.us/insurance
E-mail: insurance@dora.state.co.us

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-2616.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 50 Hours
– Health – 50 Hours
– Property – 50 Hours
– Casualty – 50 Hours
– Property & Casualty – 50 Hours
– Personal Lines – 50 Hours

Included as part of the above major lines of authority requirements, all applicants must successfully complete ten (10) hours of training in the following areas:

– Principles of Insurance – 3 Hours
– Legal Concepts and Regulations – 4 Hours
– Ethics – 3 Hours

Note: If applying for multiple lines of authority the Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts and Regulations, and Ethics training need to be taken only once.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Live Class Requirements

Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class): For Life & Health – 37 hours Life, 37 hours Health, plus 10 hours of Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts, and Reg and Ethics*; For Life Only – 32 hours Life, plus 10 hours of Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts, and Reg and Ethics*; For Health Only – 32 Hours Health, plus 10 hours of Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts, and Reg and Ethics*; For Property & Casualty – 12 hours of Property, 12 hours of Casualty, plus 10 hours of Principles of Insurance, Legal Concepts, and Reg and Ethics*. (*If student is already licensed in one line of authority, the 10 hours of Principles, Reg and Ethics is waived for the 2nd line.)
In-Class Exam: In Colorado, an in-class graded exam is given to test your readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion.

Online Course Requirements

Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
Proctor: In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the certification exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– To receive a certificate of completion candidates must pass a final, closed book, exam (minimum score of 70% required). Self-study course exams must be monitored by a disinterested third party. Classroom course exams must be monitored by a qualified instructor.
– Prelicensing providers are required to submit prelicensing completion information electronically to Pearson VUE/Colorado Division of Insurance within 10 days of completion.
– Candidates must provide evidence of successful completion of prelicensing training at the time of the examination.
– Prelicensing certificates of completion are valid for one year from the date of completion. If you attempt to take the exam after one year, you will not be licensed until you complete a prelicensing class. You must apply for a license within one year or you will be required to re-take the prelicensing class.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Individuals holding one or more of the following current and valid designations or certifications are exempt from prelicensing education requirements for the respective line of insurance authority:

– Life – CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
– Accident & Health or Sickness – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
– Property and Casualty – AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®

Note: An individual holding a four year degree from an accredited institution of higher learning with major course work in insurance is also exempt from prelicensing education.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Colorado Division of Insurance website at http://www.dora.state.co.us/insurance.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Delaware

Delaware Insurance Department

Address: 841 Silver Lake Blvd
Dover, DE 19904

Phone: 302-674-7390
Fax: 302-736-7906

Website: http://www.delawareinsurance.gov
E-mail: licensing@state.de.us

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-0455.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Delaware does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Delaware Insurance Department website at http://www.delawareinsurance.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Florida

Florida Department of Financial Services
Division of Agent and Agency Services
Bureau of Licensing

Address: 200 East Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0319

Phone: 850-413-3137
Fax: 850-413-3291

Website: http://www.myfloridacfo.com
E-mail: AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 888-274-2020.

Pearson VUE handles the entire examination process, including the examination fees. The cost of an examination is $42 per exam. Applicants do not need to apply with the Florida Department of Insurance and become authorized before taking the exam, except bail bond applicants. All applicants, including bail bond applicants, will schedule and pay for their examination on Pearson VUE’s website. Effective October 1, 2012, a new Florida law established a limit of five (5) exam attempts for the same exam type during a twelve month period. Individuals who have reached the five exam limit are not permitted to sit for their next exam attempt until the one year time window only contains four exams.

NOTE: A passing score is valid for one (1) year from the date that the score was earned. If you fail to complete the licensing processing within the one (1) year timeframe, you will be required to retake and pass the examination.

A license can only be issued to an applicant who not only earned a passing score but has also completed the application for licensure and has been approved, has paid both the application fee and the license fee, and has submitted fingerprints.

PearsonVUE site: http://www.pearsonvue.com/fl/insurance/

New examination candidate handbook: http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/121000.pdf
Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life (including Annuities & Variable Contracts) – 40 Hours
– Health – 40 Hours
– Health & Life (including Annuities & Variable Contracts) – 60 Hours
– General Lines (Property & Casualty) – 200 Hours
– Personal Lines – 52 Hours

The hours stated above must include three (3) hours on the subject of Ethics.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Online
– Self-study*

* Proctor requirements explained in “Online Course Requirements” below also apply to self-study courses.

Online Course Requirements

– Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
– Proctor: For correspondence self-study (i.e, textbook) courses only, in order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued the certification exam must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate). Note: Online courses are not classified as correspondence self-study courses.

Note: A printed copy of the Florida Health and Life (including Annuities and Variable Contracts) study manual can be ordered from the National Association of Insurance and Financial Professionals – Florida. If you register for a live class with Kaplan Financial Education this study manual will be provided for you in class. If you are using the Kaplan Florida online course to satisfy your education requirement, you will need to place an order for the study manual at the NAIFA-Florida website: http://naifa-florida.org/study-manual/.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Applicants should retain original certificate for their records.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions

– Health & Life (including Annuities & Variable Contracts) applicants who have been designated as a CLU® and have been engaged in the insurance business within the past four years. Applicant must provide an original letter from the American College of Life Underwriters certifying this fact.
– General Lines (Property & Casualty) and Personal Lines applicants who have been designated as a CPCU® and have been engaged in the insurance business within the past four years. Applicant must provide an original letter from the American Institute for Property and Liability Underwriters certifying this fact.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Florida Department of Financial Services website at http://www.myfloridacfo.com.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Georgia

Georgia Insurance Department
Agents Licensing Division

Address: Two Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive
West Tower, Suite 704
Atlanta, GA 30334

Phone: 404-656-2101

Website: http://www.gainsurance.org
E-mail: Agents@oci.ga.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-0488.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident & Sickness – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours
– Variable Products – 8 Hours plus life insurance license

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Applicant submits original certificate to the insurance department with their license application.
– Applicant must pass the required examination for licensure within 12 months of the completion of the prelicensing course.
– Applicants who fail to pass an examination after taking it 3 times must take another prelicensing course prior to retaking the exam.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions*
Applicants who have earned the following designations, certifications, or degree are exempt from prelicensing education and exam requirements for the indicated lines of authority:

– Life and Health – CLU®, FLMI
– Property & Casualty – CPCU®, CIC, CISR, CRM
– All Lines – College degrees in insurance

Note: Successful completion of two college or university courses related to insurance in the lines of authority the applicant is applying for may also qualify for an exemption.

*Applicants must attach copy of applicable designation/degree to their license application.

Note: Any applicants who have not completed the licensing requirements within 12 months of passing the exam will be required to retake the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Georgia Insurance Department website at http://www.gainsurance.org.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Hawaii

State of Hawaii
Department of Commerce & Consumer Affairs

Insurance Division

Address: King Kalakaua Building
335 Merchant St. Rm. 213
Honolulu, HI 96813
P.O. Box 3614
Honolulu, HI 96811

Phone: 808-586-2790
Fax: 808-586-2806

Website: http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/ins
E-mail: inslic@dcca.hawaii.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-2608.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Hawaii does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the State of Hawaii website at http://www.hawaii.gov/dcca/ins.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Idaho

Idaho Department of Insurance

Address: 700 West State Street
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0043

Phone: 208-334-4250
Fax: 208-334-4398

Website: http://www.doi.idaho.gov
E-mail: agent@doi.idaho.gov

Exam Provider: PSI

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Idaho does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Idaho Department of Insurance website at http://www.doi.idaho.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Illinois

Illinois Department of Insurance
Producer Licensing Unit

Address: 320 West Washington St.
Springfield, IL 62767

Phone: 217-782-6366

Website: http://www.insurance.illinois.gov
E-mail: Licensing@ins.state.il.us

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-0402.
– Individuals should allow five days after taking the Illinois state exam before applying for the state license.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours*
– Accident/Health – 20 Hours*
– Fire (Property) – 20 Hours*
– Casualty – 20 Hours*
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours*

* 7.5 of the 20 hours must be completed in a classroom setting.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom

Live Class Requirements

– Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class): 12.5 hours (Life Only), 12.5 hours (Health Only), 25 (Life and Health); 12.5 (property only), 12.5 (casualty only), 25 (Property and Casualty)
– In-Class Exam: In Illinois, an in-class graded exam is given to test your readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Candidates will be required to show proof of pre-licensing completion at the test center before they will be allowed to sit for the exam.
– Prelicensing education certificates are valid for one year from the date of completion.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Applicants who have earned one or more of the following designations or certifications may be exempt from the prelicensing education requirements for the indicated lines of authority:

– Life – CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
– Accident and Health – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
– Property and Casualty – AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®
– A college degree in insurance

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Illinois Department of Insurance website at http://www.insurance.illinois.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Indiana

Indiana Department of Insurance
Producer and Agency Licensing

Address: 311 West Washington Street,
Suite 300
Indianapolis, IN, 46204

Phone: 317-232-2412

Website: http://www.in.gov/idoi
E-mail: doi@doi.state.in.us

Exam Provider: PAN (Performance Assessment Network)

– To review the IDOI Examination Procedure Checklist, go to the IN state website at http://www.in.gov/idoi/2482.htm
– To register and schedule an exam, go to the Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI) Testing Website: https://secure.vitapowered.com/idoi/login.screen (If assistance is needed, email IDOI_support@panpowered.com or call 877-449-8378).

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life & Health – 40 Hours
– Life – 20 Hours
– Health – 20 Hours
– Personal & Commercial Property and Casualty – 40 Hours
– Personal Lines Property and Casualty – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online*

* Note: This state requires that your online study time be tracked. In order to successfully complete the course, you must complete the required number of hours while studying in the Course Contents Units of the online course. Your online course tracker will be displayed in the upper right hand corner of your page so that you can verify the time spent in the course is being tracked.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Certificate of Completion is issued by the education provider at the end of the study course and is valid for six months.
– Applicant must take the original Certificate of Completion with them to the test center the day of the exam.

State Reporting Fees

The IN Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $4.00 per course (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Applicants may be exempt from pre-licensing education requirements if they hold at least one of the following designations or certifications:

– CLU®, CFP®, CFC, CPCU®, CIC, AAI

Note: If waiver is granted, applicant must take the waiver with them to the test center the day of the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Indiana Department of Insurance website at http://www.in.gov/idoiv.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Iowa

Iowa Insurance Division
Producer Licensing

Address: 601 Locust St., 4th Floor
Des Moines, IA 50319-3738

Phone: 515-281-5705
Fax: 515-281-3059

Website: http://www.iid.state.ia.us
E-mail: producer.licensing@iid.iowa.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 877-540-5825.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Iowa does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Note: Applicants must complete the application process within 90 days of passing the examination.
This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Iowa Insurance Division website at http://www.iid.state.ia.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Kansas

Kansas Insurance Department
Producers Division

Address: 420 SW 9th Street
Topeka, KS 66612-1678

Phone: 785-296-7862
Fax: 785-368-7019

Website: http://www.ksinsurance.org
E-mail: licensing@ksinsurance.org

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 888-204-6255.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Kansas does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Kansas Insurance Department website at http://www.ksinsurance.org.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Kentucky

Kentucky Department of Insurance
Agent Licensing Division

Address: 215 W. Main St.
Frankfort, KY 40601
P.O. Box 517
Frankfort, KY 40602-0517

Phone: 502-564-6004 – 800-595-6053
Fax: 502-564-6030

Website: http://insurance.ky.gov
E-mail: DOI.AgentLicensingMail@ky.gov

Exam Provider: Kentucky Department of Insurance

– For licensing and exam information go to the Kentucky Department of Insurance website at http://insurance.ky.gov.
– To schedule an examination online, go to the Kentucky Department of Insurance website and click on “eServices” in the upper right-hand corner. This will allow you to set up the necessary account for exam scheduling.

There is no limit for the number of times an applicant may retake an examination.

The insurance application remains valid for 120 days, and upon payment of an examination retake fee, the applicant may reschedule and complete an examination an unlimited number of times within the 120-day period.

Insurance applicants may monitor their status, and schedule / reschedule examinations through the Kentucky Department of Insurance athttps://insurance.ky.gov/eservices/default.aspx.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Health – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study*
– Online

* Proctor requirements explained in “Online Course Requirements” below also apply to self-study courses.

Online Course Requirements

Time Tracking: Kentucky requires that your online study time be tracked. In order to successfully complete the course, you must complete the required number of hours while studying in the Course Contents Units of the online course. Your online course tracker will be displayed in the upper right hand corner of your page so that you can verify the time spent in the course is being tracked.
Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
Proctor: In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the certification exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Applicants submit their certification of completion with their license application.
– Certificates of Prelicensing Course Completion are valid for one year from the course completion date.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Applicants who hold one or more of the following designations, certifications, or degree do not have to satisfy the prelicensing education requirements for the indicated line of authority:

– Life – CLU®, CEBS, ChFC®, CFP®, FLMI, CIC
– Health – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA, CIC
– Property, Casualty, and Personal Lines – CPCU®, CIC, AAI, ARM
– All Lines – An insurance degree from an accredited college or university

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Kentucky Department of Insurance website at http://doi.ppr.ky.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Insurance
Producer Licensing Division

Address: P.O. Box 94214
Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Phone: 225-342-0860

Website: http://www.ldi.state.la.us
E-mail: mbroussel@ldi.state.la.us

Exam Provider: PSI (Effective 3/2/2015)

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Health & Accident – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Verifiable self-study

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Applicant must bring their original prelicensing education certificate (certificate to include the appropriate seal/signature and the prelicensing school number), to the testing center when they take their exam.
– Certificates are valid for one year.

In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the final exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Applicants who have earned the following designations or certifications are exempt from prelicensing education requirements for the indicated lines of authority:

– Life – CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
– Health & Accident – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
– Property & Casualty – AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®
– Bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited college or university with major course work in insurance

Note: Certification of a designation award must be included with the producer application.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the Louisiana Department of Insurance website at http://www.ldi.state.la.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Maine

State of Maine
Department of Professional & Financial Regulation
Bureau of Insurance
Licensing Division

Address: #34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034

Phone: 207-624-8413
Fax: 207-624-8599

Website: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance
E-mail: Insurance.PFR@maine.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-4959.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Maine does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Maine Insurance Administration website at http://http://www.maine.gov/pfr/insurance.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Maryland

Maryland Insurance Administration
Producer Licensing

Address: 200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202

Phone: 888-204-6198
Fax: 410-468-2399

Website: http://www.mdinsurance.state.md.us
E-mail: E-mail via the State website

Exam Provider: PSI

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident and Health – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Live Class Requirements

– Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class): 8 hours (Life & Health

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Education provider provides eligibility confirmation to PSI upon applicant’s successful completion of the course requirements.
– Education is valid for one year.

Note: Applicant cannot register and schedule an exam until the education provider has submitted their eligibility file to PSI.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Individuals who hold one or more of the below designations or certifications may be granted a waiver from the prelicensing education requirements for their applicable insurance exam:

– Property or Casualty – AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®
– Life – CLU®, CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, FLMI, LUTCF, Fellow of the Society of Actuaries
– Health – RHU, CEBS, HIA, REBC

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the Maryland Insurance Administration website at http://www.mdinsurance.state.md.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Massachusetts

Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Division of Insurance

Address: One South Station, 5th Floor
Boston, MA 02110-2208

Phone: 617-521-7794
Fax: 617-521-7576

Website: http://www.mass.gov/doi
E-mail: jennifer.grasso@state.ma.us

Exam Provider: Prometric

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Prometric website at http://www.prometric.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at http://www.prometric.com or 800-741-9380.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Massachusetts does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Note: Candidates must apply for and be issued a license within 12 months of passing the exam or they will be required to retake the exam.
This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the Massachusetts Division of Insurance website at http://www.mass.gov/doi.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Michigan

Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth
DELEG – Department of Insurance and Financial Services

Address: 611 West Ottawa St., 3rd Floor
Lansing, MI 48933
P.O. Box 30220
Lansing, MI 48909-7720

Phone: 877-999-6442 – 517-373-0220
Fax: 517-241-3953

Website: http://www.michigan.gov/difs
E-mail: ofir-licensing@michigan.gov

Exam Provider: PSI

Upon completion of the course material, but prior to taking the exam with PSI, license candidates must file an Electronic Resident Licensing (ERL) application through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) website at http://www.nipr.com. The application/license fee is $10.00 plus a $5.00 transaction fee. An application is valid for 6 months from entry into our database.

The ERL application is required even though candidates no longer need the NIPR confirmation page as part of the acceptance criteria to take an examination with PSI.

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life and Health – 40 Hours (34 hours on life and health insurance principles)
– Life – 20 Hours (14 hours on life insurance principles)
– Accident & Health – 20 Hours (14 hours on health insurance principles)
– Property and Casualty – 40 Hours (34 hours of property and liability insurance principles)
– Property – 20 Hours (14 hours on property insurance principles)
– Casualty – 20 Hours (14 hours on liability insurance principles)
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours (14 hours of property and liability insurance principles)

Note: Above hours include the required 6 hours of professional ethics and Michigan insurance laws.

Important: Pre-study requirements
Life, Accident & Health, and Property and Casualty Accelerated Courses ONLY – This accelerated pre-licensing review requires both pre-study and classroom attendance. A minimum number of hours of pre-study is required prior to the start of class (Please see “Pre-Class Study” requirements listed under “Live Class Requirements“ below). The pre-study consists of reading the entire License Exam Manual and answering all questions in the pre-class exam booklet before the start of class. Complete both answer sheets in the pre-class exam booklet and turn in to your instructor at the start of class.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Live Class Requirements

– Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class): 16 total hours for Life & Health (8 hours Life, 8 hours Health), 8 hours for Health Only, 8 Hours for Life Only; 16 total hours for Property & Casualty (8 hours Property, 8 hours Casualty)
– In-Class Exam: In Michigan, an in-class graded exam is given in the Life & Health and Property & Casualty Accelerated classes to test your readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion.

Online Course Requirements

– Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Candidates are not required to present their certificate to the exam provider at the exam site.
– Certificates are valid for 12 months from the date of course completion.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Prelicensing requirements may be waived for candidates who have obtained one or more of the following designations, certifications, or college credits:

– CLU®, CPCU®, RHU, ARM, CFP®, AAI, ChFC®, CIC, FLMI, REBC, LUTCF, HIA, CEBS, or have a particular concentration in college credits in insurance from an accredited college.

Note: Candidates must provide the required confirmation of their designation, certification, or college credits with their written request to the Michigan OFIR for a waiver. The written waiver must be received prior to taking the exam and presented to the exam provider at the exam site.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the Michigan Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation website at http://www.michigan.gov/difs.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Minnesota

Minnesota Department of Commerce Licensing

Address: 85 7th Place East, Suite 500
St. Paul, MN 55101

Phone: 651-539-1599 or 800-657-3978 (in MN)
Fax: 651-539-1550

Website: http://www.insurance.state.mn.us
E-mail: licensing.commerce@state.mn.us

Exam Provider: PSI

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident & Health – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

All courses include 10 hours of Pre-license Insurance Basics.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Online

Live Class Requirements

– In order to fulfill the required pre-licensing education requirements, the state of Minnesota requires that applicants attend all sessions of the live class and pass an in-class certification exam with a minimum score of 70% or greater.  All pre-licensing education requirements must be met in order to receive a certificate of completion.

Online Course Requirements

– Note: This state requires forced progression (requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next) and that your online study time be tracked. In order to successfully complete the course, you must complete the required number of hours while studying in the Course Contents Units of the online course. Your online course tracker will be displayed in the upper right hand corner of your page so that you can verify the time spent in the course is being tracked.
– Minnesota requires online Certification Exams to be monitored by a disinterested third party. Kaplan offers proctoring services by an approved instructor at no charge at select locations. For information, please contact Kaplan’s Customer Service Department at 1-800-824-8742.  Minnesota defines a proctor as: “Proctor” means a disinterested third party with no conflict of interest who verifies a student’s identity and processes an affidavit testifying that the student received no outside assistance with the course or examination.

Note: For each student, the chosen proctor is required to submit the original signed and dated verification information affidavit to the education provider’s MN approved Education Coordinator immediately after the conclusion of the exam.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Prelicensing education course provider must submit electronic certification that applicant has completed all prelicensing requirements.
– Candidates must provide proof of prelicensing education at the exam site.
– Currently prelicensing education certificates are valid indefinitely.

Prelicensing Education Exemptions
The following are exempt from the insurance prelicense eduction requirement:

– Someone with a two-year Minnesota vocational school degree in insurance
– Someone with a four-year college degree in business with an insurance emphasis
– Life applicants with any of the following professional designations: CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, or LUTCF
– Health applicants with any of the following professional designations: RHU, CEBS, REBC, or HIA
– Property, Casualty, or Personal Lines P & C applicants with any of the following professional designations: AAI, ARM, CIC, or CPCU®

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the Minnesota Department of Commerce website at http://www.insurance.state.mn.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Mississippi

Mississippi Insurance Department
Licensing Division

Address: 1001 Woolfolk State Office Building
501 N.West St 39201
P.O. Box 79
Jackson, MS 39205-0079

Phone: 601-359-3569
Fax: 601-359-1951

Website: http://www.mid.state.ms.us
E-mail: licensing@mid.state.ms.us

Exam Provider: Testing Services, Inc. (TSI)

– To register for an exam, go to TSI at www.testingservices-ms.com or call 601-956-0049.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident & Health – 20 Hours
– Life / Accident & Health – 40 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Property / Casualty – 40 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours
– Variable Life / Variable Annuity*

*The Variable Life/Variable Annuity line does not require prelicensing education, but it does require a Series 6 or Series 7 FINRA certification.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Online
– Self-study

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Applicants submit their certificate of completion to the insurance department with their license application.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the Mississippi Insurance Department website at http://www.mid.state.ms.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Missouri

Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions & Professional Registration
Resource Administration Division – Licensing

Address: 301 West High Street, Room 530
Jefferson City, MO 65101
PO Box 690
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0690

Phone: 573-751-3518
Fax: 573-526-3416

Website: http://www.insurance.mo.gov
E-mail: licensing@insurance.mo.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or or 866-274-4740.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Missouri does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education
– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the Missouri Department of Insurance website at http://www.insurance.mo.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Montana

State of Montana Department of Insurance
Producer Licensing

Address: 840 Helena Avenue
Helena, MT 59601

Phone: 406-444-2040 or 800-332-6148 (in MT)
Fax: 406-444-3497

Website: http://sao.mt.gov

E-mail: pdaugherty@mt.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or call 800-274-8906.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Montana does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the Montana Department of Insurance website at http://sao.mt.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Nebraska

Nebraska Department of Insurance
Producer Licensing Division

Address: Terminal Building
941 O Street, Suite 400
Lincoln, NE 68508-3639

Phone: 402-471-4913
Fax: 402-471-6559

Website: http://www.doi.ne.gov
E-mail: DOI.Licensing@Nebraska.gov

Exam Provider: Prometric

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Prometric website at http://www.prometric.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at http://www.prometric.com or 800-853-4753.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life and Annuities – 20 Hours
– Sickness, Accident and Health – 20 Hours (includes 6 of Med. Supp. and LTC)
– Life and Health – 40 Hours (includes 6 of Med. Supp. and LTC)
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Property & Casualty – 40 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Note: These hours include six (6) hours of Ethics required by the state.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– To be issued a certificate, applicant must pass a course final exam (minimum score of 70% required).
– In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the final exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party(someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).
– Certificates are valid for one year from date of course completion.

State Reporting Fees
The Nebraska Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Prelicensing requirements may be waived for individuals who currently maintain one or more of the following designations, certifications, or college credits:

– CLU®, CPCU®, RHU, ARM, CFP®, AAI, ChFC®, CIC, FLMI, EBC, LUTCF, HIA, CEBS, or have a college degree with a concentration in insurance from an accredited educational institution.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Nebraska Department of Insurance website at http://www.doi.ne.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Nevada

State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry Division of Insurance

Address: 788 Fairview Drive, Suite 300
Carson City, Nevada 89701-5491

Phone: 888-872-3234
Fax: 775-687-3937

Website: http://doi.state.nv.us
E-mail: insinfo@doi.state.nv.us

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 888-204-6218.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Health – 20 Hours
– Life and Health – 40 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Property and Casualty – 40 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Note: Above hours include the required 5 hours of Nevada Law.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study*
– Online*

* In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the final exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Applicant submits original certificate of completion to the Nevada Division of Insurance with license application.
– Certificates of completion are valid for two years from the date of course completion.

State Reporting Fees
The NV Department of Business and Industry, Division of Insurance, requires a course reporting fee of $4.00 per course (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
The following persons may be eligible for an exemption:

– Persons with at least 10 years employment with an insurer in underwriting or adjusting claims.
– Persons who have been licensed 10 out of the last 15 years.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the state of Nevada Division of Insurance website at http://doi.state.nv.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Insurance Department
License Division

Address: 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14
Concord, NH 03301

Phone: 603-271-0203
Fax: 603-271-7029

Website: www.nh.gov/insurance
E-mail: producerquestions@ins.nh.gov

Exam Provider: Prometric

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Prometric website at http://www.prometric.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at http://www.prometric.com or 800-869-6603.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of New Hampshire does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Candidates with the following designations or certifications need only take the applicable Insurance Laws and Regulations exam for the line(s) of insurance for which they are applying:

– CLU® designees who are applying for only a Life license need only take and pass the NH Life Insurance Laws and Regulations exam.
– CLU® designees who are applying only for an Accident and Health license need only take and pass the NH Accident and Health Insurance Laws and Regulations exam.
– CLU® designees who are applying for a Life, Accident and Health license need only take and pass the NH Life, Accident and Health Insurance Laws and Regulations exam.
– CPCU® designees who are applying for a Property and Casualty license need only take and pass the New Hampshire Property & Casualty Insurance Laws and Regulations exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the New Hampshire Insurance Department website at www.nh.gov/insurance.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

New Jersey

State of New Jersey – Department of Banking & Insurance
Producer Licensing Unit

Address: 20 West State Street
PO Box 327
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0327

Phone: 609-292-4337
Fax: 609-984-5263

Website: http://www.state.nj.us/dobi
E-mail: inslic@dobi.state.nj.us

Exam Provider: PSI

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Combined Life and Health – 40 Hours
– Life – 20 Hours
– Health – 20 Hours
– Combined Property and Casualty – 40 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – Property and Casualty – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Online Course Requirements

Proctor: In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the certification exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Candidantes must present their original prelicensing education course completion certificate on the day of the exam, or a waiver issued by the New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance.
– Certificate is submitted with the candidate’s insurance license application.
– Certificates of completion are valid for two years from the date of course completion.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
The following designations or certifications are approved for waiver of prelicensing education requirements for the indicated insurance line of authority: Note: Applicant must apply for a license within one year of passing the exam.

– Life – CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®,CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
– Accident and Health or Sickness – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
– Property, Casualty, Personal Lines – AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®

Note: Applicant must apply for a license within one year of passing the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance website at http://www.state.nj.us/dobi.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

New Mexico

New Mexico
Office of the Superintendent of Insurance

Address: P.E.R.A. Building, Room 434
1120 Paseo de Peralta
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
PO Box 1269
Santa Fe, NM 87504

Phone: 505-827-4601 – 800-947-4722 (in NM)
Fax: 505-827-4734

Website: http://www.osi.state.nm.us
E-mail: Agents.Licensing@state.nm.us

Exam Provider: PSI

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of New Mexico does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Exam requirements are waived for applicants with the following designations or certifications:

– CLU® designees are exempt from the Life, Accident and Health lines exam requirements.
– CPCU® designees are exempt from the Property and/or Casualty lines exam requirements.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the New Mexico PRC Division of Insurance website at http://www.nmprc.state.nm.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

New York

New York State Department of Financial Services
Insurance Division

Address: One Commerce Plaza
Suite 2003
Albany, New York 12257

Phone: 518-474-6630
Fax: 518-474-5048

Website: http://www.dfs.ny.gov
E-mail: licensing@dfs.ny.gov

Exam Provider: Prometric

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Prometric website at http://www.prometric.com/newyork/ins.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at http://www.prometric.com/newyork/ins or 800-324-7147.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life, Accident & Health – 40 Hours (for live class approvals, minimum of 20 classroom hours required).
– Life (only) – 20 Hours (for live class approvals, minimum of 10 classroom hours required).
– Accident & Health (only) – 20 Hours (for live class approvals, minimum of 10 classroom hours required).
– Property & Casualty – 96 Hours (for live class approvals, minimum of 90 classroom hours required).
– Personal Lines – 43 Hours (for live class approvals, minimum of 40 classroom hours required).

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom.
– Online  (Note: New York has approved Kaplan’s Life Only and Accident & Health Only Online Courses.)

Live Class Requirements

– Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class): 10 hours (Life only 20 hour class and Health only 20 hour class), 20 hours (Life & Health 40 hour class)
– In-Class Exam: In New York, an in-class graded exam is given in the Life & Health class to test your readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion.

Online Course Requirements

Forced Progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
Exam and Monitor: For online course students – You are required to make an appointment with an approved monitor before completing the online certification exam.  A fee may be charged for this service. IMPORTANT: Per New York regulations, the course Certification Exam may ONLY be opened in the presence of a New York State approved Monitor. A list of approved monitors can be found on the New York Department of Financial Services’ website:https://myportal.dfs.ny.gov/web/guest-applications/monitor-search. The Certification Exam is a timed exam, and requires a minimum score of 70% to pass.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– To be issued a School Certificate, candidates must comply with all prelicensing course attendance requirements and pass the final course exam (minimum score of 70% required).
– Candidates must permanently retain the certificate, but it is not needed at exam.
– When submitting a license application, applicant must present evidence that they possess a school certificate.
– Certificates are good for a lifetime.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Candidates with the following designations or certifications are exempt from prelicensing education requirements and Part 1 of the exam. In order to be licensed:

– CLU® designees need only take the Life & Health Laws and Regulations exam.
– CPCU® designees need only take the Property & Casualty Laws and Regulations exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the New York State Insurance Department website at http://www.ins.state.ny.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

North Carolina

North Carolina Department of Insurance
Agent Services Division

Address: 1204 Mail Services
Raleigh, NC 27699-1204

Phone: 919-807-6800
Fax: 919-715-3794

Website: http://www.ncdoi.com
E-mail: ASDRESLIC@NCDOI.net

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– Prior to scheduling the exam with Pearson VUE, candidates must complete the NIPR license application online by visiting nipr.com. Candidates are not able to schedule an exam until this is completed and an email is received by the student from Pearson VUE. This email will contain instructions to schedule.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident and Health or Sickness – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours
– Medicare Supplement / Long-Term Care – 10 Hours*

*Applicant must be licensed for Accident and Health or Sickness.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study**
– Online**

Live Review Class Requirements

Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live review class): 20 hours of pre-study per insurance line of authority (Life = 20 hours, Health = 20 hours) with 2 instructor contacts (an instructional email from the instructor and a 1/2 day live review class per line of authority).

In-Class Exam: In North Carolina, an in-class graded exam is given in the Life & Health class to test your readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion.

**Course must adhere to specific rules for applicant to receive prelicensing credit, including the final course examination (certification exam) being monitored and administered by a disinterested third party. North Carolina defines a “disinterested third party” as “a person not concerned with respect to possible gain or loss in the result of a pending course final examination and does not include the current employer, prospective employer and a member of the applicant’s immediate family.”

** Note: This state requires that your online study time be tracked. In order to successfully complete the course, you must complete the required number of hours while studying in the Course Contents Units of the online course. Your online course tracker will be displayed in the upper right hand corner of your page so that you can verify the time spent in the course is being tracked.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Candidate must present the original certificate, referred to as the prelicensing Examination Admission Ticket, to the exam provider at the test site.
– Certificate is valid for 90 days from the course completion date, or a maximum of 5 exam attempts, whichever occurs first.

Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Individuals holding one or more of the following designations or certifications are exempt from prelicensing education requirements if they pass the exam on their first attempt. If they fail, they must successfully meet the mandatory prelicensing education requirements prior to retaking the exam:

– Life – CIC, CEBS, CFP®
– Accident and Health or Sickness – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
– Property, Casualty, Personal Lines – AAI, ARM, CIC
– Someone who holds a degree in insurance (associate or bachelors) can also be waived from prelicensing

Note: To receive a waiver, applicants must submit a written request.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the North Carolina Department of Insurance website at http://www.ncdoi.com.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

North Dakota

North Dakota Insurance Department

Address: State Capitol, fifth floor
Dept. 401
600 E. Boulevard Ave.
Bismarck, ND 58505-0320

Phone: 701-328-2440 – 800-247-0560
Fax: 701-328-4880

Website: http://www.nd.gov/ndins
E-mail: ndlicensing@nd.gov

Exam Provider: PSI

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of North Dakota does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the the North Dakota Insurance Department website at http://www.nd.gov/ndins.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Ohio

Ohio Department of Insurance
Insurance Division

Address: 50 West Town Street
3rd Floor, Suite 300
Columbus, OH 43215

Phone: 614-644-2665
Fax: 614-644-3475

Website: http://www.insurance.ohio.gov
E-mail: licensing@ins.state.oh.us

Exam Provider: Prometric

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Prometric website at http://www.prometric/ohio.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at http://www.prometric.com or 877-346-4014.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life / Variable Products – 20 Hours.
– Accident & Health – 20 Hours.
– Property – 20 Hours.
– Casualty – 20 Hours.
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom.
– Self-study*.
– Online*.

*Self-study and online courses require applicants to pass a monitored certification exam.

*Upon registration, the candidate will be provided a Pre-Licensing Education Student Registration Form which must be completed and returned to Kaplan Financial Education according to the directions provided.

*The Ohio insurance licensing bulletin will be mailed to the candidate at the time of registration.

Online Course Requirements

– Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
– Proctor: The certification exam must be monitored by a qualified proctor. See “Certificate of Completion Requirements” immediately below for pertinent details. (Proctor requirements also apply to self-study courses.)

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– *To receive a certificate the applicant must receive a score of 70% or greater on the proctored certification exam given by the approved prelicensing provider. The certification exam must be supervised by a proctor approved by the provider. The proctor will verify the student’s identity and complete a Pre-Licensing Self-Study Affidavit. The affidavit, signed by both the student and the proctor, verifies the student did not receive outside assistance. The affidavit must be returned to Kaplan Financial Education immediately upon passing the self-study examination according to the directions provided.
– A certificate of course completion is issued to the individual at the end of each line of authority course completed, and is valid for 180 calendar days.
– Applicant must present the original, unaltered course completion certificate(s) for each corresponding line of insurance authority they are applying for at the exam site.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Applicants who have the following designations, certifications, or degrees may have the prelicensing education requirements waived for the indicated line of authority:

– Life, Accident & Health – CLU®.
– Property, Casualty and Personal Lines – CPCU®.
– All major lines of authority (except Surety Bail Bond) – Associates or Bachelors Degree with a major in Insurance.

Note: Applicant must provide verification to the Ohio Department of Insurance and receive the education waiver prior to testing. Each waiver is valid for 180 calendar days, and the applicant must present the original waiver on the day of the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Ohio Department of Insurance website at http://www.ohioinsurance.gov.

Product Return / Refund Policy

– Purchases of downloadable products/services are final and non-refundable.
– Web-based Courses and Classes
Web-based courses and classes are only eligible for a refund within 30 days of purchase, and only if the course or class has NOT been accessed. A $20 administrative fee will apply. Web-based courses and classes are not eligible for Reschedules, Transfers, or PassProtection Retakes, as archives are available.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma Insurance Department
Producers Licensing Division

Address: 3625 NW 56th Street, Suite 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73112-4511

Phone: 405-521-3916 – 800-522-0071(in OK)

Website: http://www.oid.ok.gov
E-mail: licensing@oid.ok.us

Exam Provider: PSI

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Oklahoma Licensing Requirements

Effective June 20, 2011, the requirement to obtain a provisional license or participate in an approved training program before applying for a license has been removed. The new applicant procedure is to take and pass the examination and then apply for the license through NIPR.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom.
– Self-study.
– Online.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Oklahoma Insurance Department website at http://www.oid.ok.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Oregon

Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services
Oregon Insurance Division

Address: 350 Winter St NE
Salem, OR 97301-3883
P.O. Box 14480
Salem, OR 97309-0405

Phone: 503-947-7981
Fax: 503-378-4351

Website: http://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/insurance/Pages/index.aspx
E-mail: web.insagent@state.or.us

Exam Provider: PSI

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Health – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Online

Online Course Requirements

– Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Upon completion of the online course, the applicant must receive a score of 70% or greater on the certification exam in order to be issued a certificate.
– Applicants must bring the original certificate of completion with them to the test center on exam day.
– Certificates are valid for one year.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Prelicensing education is not required for:

– Life, Health, or Life and Health applicants holding the CLU® designation.
– Property and/or Casualty applicants holding the CPCU® designation

Note: Applicants may contact the Insurance Division regarding waivers. If a waiver is issued, the applicant must bring the original waiver letter with them to the test center on exam day. Verification of designation must be submitted to the Insurance Division with the license application.

Process for being issued an Oregon Insurance License
The process for being issued an Oregon insurance producer license are as follows (Note: Applicant must first successfully complete all of the prelicensing education requirements covered above):

– Schedule your state exam through psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.
– Pass your exam.
– While at the exam center have electronic finger prints taken and pay the Fingerprinting Fee. The Fingerprinting Fee includes the state processing fee and PSI processing fee (fee must be paid with VISA, MasterCard, Company check, money order, or cashier’ check ONLY – no personal checks).
– Apply online at NIPR.com. This should be done soon after passing the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services website at http://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/insurance/Pages/index.aspx.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania Insurance Department
Bureau of Producer Services

Address: 1209 Strawberry Square
Harrisburg
Pennsylvania 17120

Phone: 717-787-3840
Fax: 717-787-8553

Website: http://www.insurance.pa.gov
E-mail: ra-in-producer@state.pa.us

Exam Provider: PSI (Effective 7/1/2015)

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
Candidates must complete the prelicensing education requirements of 24 hours of approved prelicensing courses, of which a minimum of 3 hours must be from an approved ethics course.

– Life/Accident and Health – 24 Hours (including a minimum of 3 hours of ethics).
– Life – 24 Hours (including a minimum of 3 hours of ethics).
– Accident and Health – 24 Hours (including a minimum of 3 hours of ethics).
– Property/Casualty – 24 Hours (including a minimum of 3 hours of ethics).
– Property – 24 Hours (including a minimum of 3 hours of ethics).
– Casualty – 24 Hours (including a minimum of 3 hours of ethics).
– Personal Lines – 24 Hours (including a minimum of 3 hours of ethics).

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Live Class Requirements

Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class): 8 hours (Property & Casualty); 12 hours (Life Only); 12 hours (Health Only)
In-Class Exam: In Pennsylvania, an in-class graded exam is given in the Life Only, Health Only, and Property & Casualty classes to test your readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion.

Online Course Requirements

Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
Proctor: In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the certification exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– To receive a certificate of completion, candidates must pass a monitored final exam.
– Education providers are required to report prelicensing education credits to PSI within 15 business days and to provide candidates with a certificate of completion within 30 business days of the candidate successfully completing the course.
– As proof of successful completion, candidates must bring their prelicensing education certificate of completion with them to the testing center.
– Certificates are valid for one year from the date of course completion.
– Candidates are required to retain certificates of course completion and affidavits of exam completion for 6 years from the date of completion.

State Reporting Fees
The PA Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $5.00 per course (online, self-study and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Candidates with the following designations or certifications are generally exempt from prelicensing education and examination requirements for the indicated line of insurance authority:

– Life or Accident and Health – CLU®
– Property, Casualty, or Accident and Health – CPCU®
– Life, Accident and Health or Property and Casualty – CIC

Adding a line of authority to an existing license does not require pre-licensing education. The licensee should take a copy of his/her current producer license to the exam center.

Note: Candidate must submit their license application within one year of passing the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Pennsylvania Insurance Department website at http://www.insurance.pa.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
Insurance Division

Address: 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-2
Cranston
RI 02920

Phone: 401-462-9520
Fax: 401-462-9602

Website: http://www.dbr.ri.gov/divisions/insurance/
E-mail: insuranceinquiry@dbr.ri.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-3739.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

Effective January 1, 2012, a person applying for a resident insurance producer license will no longer be required to complete a prelicensing course of study for the lines of authority for which the person has applied.
– Although prelicensing education is not currently required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation website at http://www.dbr.ri.gov/divisions/insurance/.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

South Carolina

South Carolina Department of Insurance (SCDOI)
Market Services, Individual and Agency Licensing

Address: 1201 Main Street
Columbia, SC 29201
P.O. Box 100105
Columbia, SC 29202-3105

Phone: 803-737-6095
Fax: 803-737-6100

Website: http://www.doi.sc.gov
E-mail: agntmail@doi.sc.gov

Exam Provider: PSI.

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of South Carolina does not require prelicensing education
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the South Carolina Department of Insurance website at http://www.doi.sc.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

South Dakota

South Dakota Division of Insurance

Address: 445 East Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD 57501-3185

Phone: 605-773-3513
Fax: 605-773-5369

Website: http://www.state.sd.us/insurance
E-mail: insurance@state.sd.us

Exam Provider: Prometric

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Prometric website at http://www.prometric.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at http://www.prometric.com or 800-864-8373.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of South Dakota does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Note: Candidates must submit their license application within 180 days of passing the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the South Dakota Division of Insurance website at http://www.state.sd.us/insurance.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Tennessee

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Insurance Division

Agent Licensing Section

Address: 500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243

Phone: 615-741-2693 or 888-416-0868
Fax: 615-532-2862

Website: http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/insurance
E-mail: ce.agent.licensing@state.tn.us

Insurance Systems of TN-Kaplan is authorized for operation as a post secondary educational institution by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. In order to view detailed job placement and graduation information on the programs offered by Insurance Systems of TN-Kaplan, please visitwww.state.tn.us/thec and click on the Authorized Institutions Data button.

All credits earned through Insurance Systems of TN-Kaplan are non-transferable.

To view Kaplan Financial Education Ordering Policies and Pre-Enrollment Disclosure information, Click Here: http://www.kfeducation.com/help/return

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-4957.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident & Health – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Live Class Requirements

– Pre-Class Study (must be completed prior to attending the live class): 4 hours (Life Only), 4 hours (Health Only), 4 hours (Property Only), 4 hours (Casualty only)

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Applicant must present the original Prelicensing Course Certificate for each corresponding line of insurance authority they are applying for at the exam site.
– Course completion certificates are valid for six months from completion date.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance website at http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/insurance.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Texas

Texas Department of Insurance
Licensing Division MC 107-1A

Address: 333 Guadalupe
Austin, TX 78701
P.O. Box 149104
Austin, TX 78714-9104

Phone: 512-322-3503
Fax: 512-332-4209

Website: http://www.tdi.state.tx.us
E-mail: License@tdi.state.tx.us

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE.

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 888-754-7667.

Adjuster Licensing

The Texas Department of Insurance requires staff and independent adjusters to take a state-approved 40-hour live class or online course offered by an approved education provider. The candidate must also pass a state certification exam administered by the education provider or the state’s testing administrator.

Kaplan’s Adjuster License course includes the state certification exam. The exam must be proctored by a disinterested third party. The disinterested third party may not be related to the student, may not be the student’s employer or employee, and may not otherwise benefit from the student passing the course. Texas also requires that a notarized Pre-Licensing Self-Study Course Affidavit form (included with your online course) be completed and submitted to the education provider.

If you are taking the Kaplan online course and successfully pass the certification exam, upon receiving your completed and notarized Pre-Licensing Self-Study Course Affidavit form, Kaplan will mail a Certificate of Completion to you within 5-7 business days. You will need to mail the Certificate of Completion along with your fingerprint receipt, Texas Adjuster Application (obtained from the Texas Department of Insurance website), and a $50 fee to the Texas DOI.

Fingerprinting will be available at most test sites through the fingerprint vender Morpho-Trust.

Pre-licensing Education Hour Requirements
For licensing other than adjuster licensing, pre-licensing education is not required unless applicant desires a temporary 90-day license.

– A temporary 90-day license can be applied for (applies to General Lines – Life, Accident & Health and General Lines- Property & Casualty) which allows the individual to be licensed before passing an examination and receiving the permanent license.
– Temporary licensees must have a sponsoring licensed insurance company, agency, or agent, and must complete 40 hours of pre-licensing education no later than the 14th day after the date of their temporary license application.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Live Class Requirements

– In-Class Exam: In Texas, an in-class graded exam is given in the Texas Surplus Lines class to test your readiness for the state exam. The test must be passed with a 70% or greater in order to receive a certificate of completion. The applicable exams are also given in the Texas Workers’ Compensation and Texas Property & Casualty Adjuster classes. These exams also have a minimum required score of 70%.

Texas Property & Casualty Adjuster Class: Students are certified to apply for state licensing upon successful completion of the final exam given and graded on the last day of class. In addition to the live class time, applicant must also complete eight (8) hours of self-study and submit a self-study affidavit to the live class instructor verifying this fact. To be eligible to take the class final exam, the applicant must first complete all required education hours, including the self-study time.

Online Course Requirements (Texas Property & Casualty Adjuster Course only)

– Forced progression: This requires the user to successfully complete each page of the online course before being allowed to proceed to the next.
– Proctor: In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the three hour timed certification exam for the Texas Property & Casualty Adjuster course must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate). Texas also requires that a notarized Pre-Licensing Self-Study Course Affidavit form (included with your online course) be completed and submitted to the education provider.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Insurance Producers: Not applicable
– Insurance Adjusters: Applicants who qualify for an Adjuster license by completing a Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) approved course within 12 months prior to submitting an application, must submit to the TDI the TDI license application (including the application fee) along with the course certificate of completion. (Please see “Adjuster Licensing” above for additional information.)

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions*

– Applicants who hold the CLU® designation are exempt from the General Lines – Life, Accident and Health exam.
– Applicants who hold the CPCU® designation are exempt from the General Lines – Property and Casualty exam.

*Applicants who are exempt from examination must submit documentation which clearly shows the applicant’s name and date the designation was conferred along with their license application.

Note: Applicants must submit their license application within 12 months of passing the exam or they will be required to retake the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Texas Department of Insurance website at http://www.tdi.state.tx.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office

The Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office (AAL) is responsible for the licensing, registration, certification and regulation of persons who wish to sell insurance or adjust property and casualty claims in the state of Texas. This includes, but is not limited to, insurance agents, insurance adjusters, public insurance adjusters, risk managers, life insurance counselors, reinsurance intermediaries, navigators, discount healthcare operators, title agents, escrow officers, and small employer health benefit plans. The office also regulates persons selling insurance related products from travel agencies, self-service storage facilities, retail establishments, and rental car companies.

Please refer to the Processing Dates page to check the date staff is working on at this time.

Although not all-inclusive, AAL is responsible for the following functions:

Processing applications and other common licensing transactions
Processing appointments and associations for insurers, agents and adjusters
Processing name, address, and contact information updates
Processing agent and adjuster license renewals
Licensing Title Agencies and Escrow Officers
Ensuring compliance with licensee examination requirements
Ensuring compliance with continuing education requirements
Registering Navigators for health benefit exchanges
Registering Discount Health Care Program Operators

Frequently Asked Questions

AAL provides a listing of common questions, and answers to those questions in our Frequently Asked Questions webpage.

You may also call the Texas Department of Insurance customer service representatives at 512-676-6500, should you need further assistance.

Utah

Utah Insurance Department
Producer Licensing Division

Address: State Office Building
Suite 3110
450 N State Street
Salt Lake City
UT 84114-6901

Phone: 801-538-3855
Fax: 801-538-3830

Website: http://www.insurance.utah.gov
E-mail: licensing.uid@utah.gov

Exam Provider: PSI (Effective 1/2/2015)

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Utah does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Note: Test scores are valid for 90 days after passing the exam. After 90 days the exam is no longer valid for licensing purposes and must be re-taken. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Utah Insurance Department website at http://www.insurance.utah.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Vermont

Vermont Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration (BISHCA)
Insurance Division
Producer Licensing

Address: 89 Main Street
Montpelier, VT 05620-3101

Phone: 802-828-3303
Fax: 802-828-1633

Website: http://www.bishca.state.vt.us
E-mail: bishca.producerlicensing@state.vt.us

Exam Provider: Prometric

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Prometric website at http://www.prometric.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at http://www.prometric.com or 800-868-6113.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Vermont does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of the exam, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Vermont Department of Banking, Insurance, Securities and Health Care Administration website at http://www.bishca.state.vt.us.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Virginia

Virginia Bureau of Insurance
Agents Licensing Section

Address: 1300 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Phone: 804-371-9631 or 800-552-7945 (in VA)
Fax: 804-371-9290

Website: http://scc.virginia.gov/division/boi
E-mail: bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 888-204-6272.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Virginia does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
Candidates who hold the following designations or certifications may apply for the indicated lines of authority without taking the prelicensing exam:

– CLU® holders may apply for the Life and Annuities license, Health license, or both.
– CPCU® holders may apply for the Property and Casualty license or the Personal Lines license.

Note: To request a waiver, candidates must submit proof that they hold the applicable designation to the Bureau of Insurance with their license application.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Virginia Bureau of Insurance website at http://scc.virginia.gov/division/boi.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Washington

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner
Agents and Brokers

Address: PO Box 40257
Olympia, WA 98504-0257

Phone: 360-725-7144
Fax: 360-586-2019

Website: http://www.insurance.wa.gov
Prelicensing Education: http://insurance.wa.gov/index.html

E-mail: LicInfo@oic.wa.gov

Exam Provider: PSI (Effective 6/28/2015)

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the PSI website at http://www.psiexams.com
– To schedule an exam, contact PSI at http://www.psiexams.com or 800-733-9267.

It is the candidate’s responsibility to contact PSI to pay and schedule an examination. There is no limit to the number of times a candidate may retake an examination if necessary to pass. However, for the examinations that require a pre-licensing course certificate, the certificate must be valid.

ONLINE (WWW.PSIEXAMS.COM
For the fastest and most convenient examination scheduling process, register for your examinations online by accessing PSI’ website athttp://www.psiexams.com. Internet registration is available 24 hours a day.

– Log onto PSI’s website and create an account. You will be asked to put in your email address and the spelling of your name exactly as it is shown on your identification that will be presented at the examination center.
– You will be asked to select the examination. You will then enter your personal and contact information. You will then be ready to pay and schedule for the examination. Enter your zip code and a list of the examination centers closest to you will appear. Once you select the desired examination center, available dates will appear.

TELEPHONE REGISTRATION

Call (800) 733-9267, PSI registrars are available Monday through Friday between 4:30 am and 7:00 pm, or Saturday-Sunday between 6:00 am and 2:30 pm, Pacific Time.

To register by phone, you need a valid credit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express or Discover.)

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Disability – 20 Hours
– Property – 20 Hours
– Casualty – 20 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study* (includes online)

*Self-study courses must be purchased from an approved provider.

Self-study Course Requirements

Note: Candidates are allowed 12 months from the purchase date of their courses to complete their prelicensing education.

Kaplan’s Refund Policy

– To access Kaplan’s Refund Policy: http://www.kfeducation.com/help/return/.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Education provider issues a separate certificate for each 20 hour course successfully completed.
– Candidates must present their prelicensing course certificate at the exam center, but certificates will not be retained at the test center.
– Candidates submit certificate of completion along with their license application.
– Certificates of completion are valid for 12 months from the date of course completion.

Prohibited Acts or Practices by License Examinees [WAC 284-17-125]

In addition to the unlawful acts set forth in RCW 48.17.125, the following are prohibited acts or practices by persons taking examinations for licenses:

– Behavior that undermines the evaluative objective of the examination;
– Communication with any other examinee during the examination period;
– Copying answers or allowing another to copy answers;
– Possessing during the examination any books, materials, notes, or photography or recording devices not issued or approved by the independent testing service representative; or Impersonating, or engaging another to impersonate, any applicant for the purpose of completing the examination on behalf of another.

[Statutory Authority: RCW 48.02.060.88-23-063 (Order R 88-11), §284-17-130, filed 11/16/88.]

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions**
Candidates may qualify for a waiver of their prelicensing education requirements if they have completed one of the following insurance designation or certification programs within the last 12 months:

– Life – CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
– Disability – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
– Property or Casualty – AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®

**Candidates who have been granted a waiver must present the waiver at the test center.

Note: Candidates who are not licensed within 180 days after passing an examination must be reexamined.

Procedures for Applying for a Washington Insurance License
The procedures/steps for applying for a Washington insurance full lines producer license are as follows:

– Complete your pre-licensing education requirement (PLE), which includes the required hours and passing applicable certification exam. See “Pre-licensing Education Hour Requirements” above for the required number of hours by insurance line.
– Obtain your Certificate of Completion. See “Certificate of Completion Requirements” above for certificate details. Upon successful completion of PLE, your certificate can be printed from your online account.
– Schedule and pass your exam. See “Exam Provider” above for contact information.
– Apply for your license online. Have your exam score report(s) ready as you will need to attach electronically or mail to the state. Certificate of Completion is also submitted along with your license application.
– Submit your fingerprint card.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner website at http://www.insurance.wa.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Washington DC

Government of the District of Columbia
Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking

The Insurance Bureau

Address: 810 1st Street NE, Suite 701
Washington, DC 20002

Phone: 202-727-8000
Fax: 202-535-1196

Website: http://www.disb.dc.gov
E-mail: disb@dc.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-0610.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The District of Columbia does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the District of Columbia Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking website at http://www.disb.dc.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kapla

West Virginia

State of West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner
Agent Licensing and Education

Address: 1124 Smith St., Room 402
Charleston WV 25301
PO Box 50541
Charleston WV 25305-0541

Phone: 304-558-0610

Website: http://www.wvinsurance.gov
E-mail: agent.licensing@wvinsurance.gov

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 800-274-2614.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– Life – 20 Hours
– Accident & Health or Sickness – 20 Hours
– Life, Accident & Health or Sickness – 40 Hours
– Property & Casualty – 40 Hours
– Personal Lines – 20 Hours

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study*
– Online*

*Course final exam must be monitored by a disinterested third party (someone other than a relative, friend, or business associate).

Certificate of Completion Requirements
– Candidates must present a Certificate of Prelicensing Course Completion at the test center in order to be admitted.
– Certificates of completion are valid for four months from the date of course completion.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions
An exam is not required as proof of competency with respect to the following lines of authority for candidates who hold one or more of the following designations, certifications, or degrees:

– Life – CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
– Health – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
– Property and Casualty – AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®
– All lines – College insurance degree

Note: Applicants who are not licensed within one year of passing an exam must complete prelicensing and must retake the exam.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner website at http://www.wvinsurance.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Office of the Insurance Commissioner
Agent Licensing Section

Address: 125 South Webster Street
Madison, Wisconsin 53703-3474
PO Box 7872
Madison, WI 53707-7872

Phone: 608-266-8699
Fax: 608-267-9451

Website: http://www.oci.wi.gov
E-mail: ociagentlicensing@wisconsin.gov

Exam Provider: Prometric(Effective 7/1/2014)

– All license candidates must go to the Prometric website at http://www.prometric.com. and download the License Exam Candidate Handbook.
– To schedule an exam, contact Prometric at http://www.prometric.com or 800-341-3257.

Note: Be sure you have completed your license education (the course content in its entirety), taken and passed your prelicensing education Certification Exam, and received your certificate of completion from Kaplan before you take the state license exam.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements
The following requirements regarding policies, terms, concepts and line-specific insurance law must be completed for each major line of insurance authority being applied for:

– Life – 12 Hours
– Accident & Health – 12 Hours
– Property – 12 Hours
– Casualty – 12 Hours
– Personal Lines P&C – 12 Hours

In addition to the above requirements, candidates must also complete:

– Principles of Insurance, General Wisconsin Insurance Laws, and Ethics – 8 Hours

Note: Once this eight hours is completed it does not need to be repeated for each line as long as all Certificates of Completion are valid. Certificates of completion are valid for one year from the date of course completion. Kaplan’s insurance licensing courses include this 8 hour requirement.

Important: Prelicensing education must be completed and reported to Wisconsin before taking the Wisconsin License Exam. Successful completion requires completing the course content in its entirety and passing the Certification Exam.

Acceptable Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study*
– Online

* Proctor requirements explained in “Online Class Requirements” below also apply to self-study courses.

Online Course Requirements

– Per State requirements, to gain access to the required course certification exam, students must first complete the online course in its entirety.
– Proctor: In order for a certificate of completion to be earned and issued, the certification exam for self-study courses must be monitored by a proctor. The proctor must be a disinterested third party or currently licensed agent with no family or financial relationship with the candidate. A friend can be a “proctor” as long as the friend has no financial relationship with the candidate. The proctor must verify the candidates’s identity and complete an affidavit supplied by the approved provider attesting that the candidate received no outside assistance. Membership in a professional association/organization does not constitute a financial relationship.

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Upon successful completion of the education requirement, each candidate receives a Certificate of Prelicensing Education.
– Education providers are required to electronically bank the candidates’ course information with 10 days of completion.
– Certificates of completion are valid for one year from the date of course completion.

Exam and/or Prelicensing Education Exemptions**
Candidates may apply for an exemption from the prelicensing education requirements for the indicated lines of insurance authority if they have one or more of the following designations or certifications:

– Life – CEBS, ChFC®, CIC, CFP®, CLU®, FLMI, LUTCF
– Disability – RHU, CEBS, REBC, HIA
– Property or Casualty – AAI, ARM, CIC, CPCU®

Note: Candidates may also apply for an exemption if they have completed a two-year Wisconsin vocational school degree in insurance or a four-year college degree in business with an insurance emphasis.

**Candidates applying for an exemption must submit the appropriate exemption and official documentation. If claiming a degree, the original transcript must be included.

This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Wisconsin Office of the Insurance Commissioner website at http://www.oci.wi.gov.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.

Wyoming

Wyoming Insurance Department
Licensing Division

Address: 106 East 6th Avenue
Cheyenne, WY 82002

Phone: 307-777-7319
Fax: 307-777-5895

Website: http://insurance.state.wy.us/index.asp
E-mail: wyinsdep@state.wy.us

Exam Provider: Pearson VUE

– To obtain a Licensing Information Bulletin, go to the Pearson VUE website at http://www.pearsonvue.com.
– To schedule an exam, contact Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com or 866-936-7786.

Prelicensing Education Hour Requirements

– The state of Wyoming does not require prelicensing education.
– Although prelicensing education is not required, due to the difficulty and nature of these exams, Kaplan highly recommends enrolling in a study course.

Methods of Education

– Classroom
– Self-study
– Online

Certificate of Completion Requirements

– Not applicable

Note: Resident producer license applications must be received within twelve months from the qualifying exam date. This information pertains to resident license applicants. For additional information for resident licensing, or for nonresident license information, please refer to the Wyoming Insurance Department website athttp://insurance.state.wy.us/index.asp.

This information is based on state laws and regulations and is subject to change. Kaplan Financial Education makes every effort to make sure this information is current and accurate, however, Kaplan Financial Education is not engaged in rendering legal or professional advice and shall not be held responsible for inaccuracies contained herein.